Book Review: Immortal Beloved by Cate Tiernan

Nastasya has spent the last century living as a spoiled, drugged-out party girl. She feels nothing and cares for no one. But when she witnesses her best friend, a Dark Immortal, torture a human, she realizes something’s got to change. She seeks refuge at a rehab for wayward immortals, where she meets the gorgeous, undeniably sexy Reyn, who seems inexplicably linked to her past.

Nastasya finally begins to deal with life, and even feels safe–until the night she learns that someone wants her dead.

Cate Tiernan, author of the popular Sweep series, returns with an engaging story of a timeless struggle and inescapable romance, the first book in a stunning new fantasy trilogy.”

Paperback: 407 Pages

Series: Immortal Beloved #1

Publisher: Little Brown and Co.

Find on GoodReads

I fell in love with this book, slowly but surely. I say slowly because Nasty’s character isn’t a loveable one, not at first anyway. She’s unreliable, irresponsible, weak and annoyingly pessimistic.She’s a 450 something year old child. All of that changes though as she makes a decision: to get away from her so-called friends, step over her pride and ask for help. Also, her self deprecating jabs and her humour are awesome.

She is an Immortal who has lived through wars and plagues, with incredible magical powers, whose idea of attacking her enemies is magically messing with their dinner rolls. I couldn’t help but laugh out loud while reading.

She turns out to be a great, strong, funny, often times deliciously sarcastic, female character.

I can’t say I loved Reyn, he was just so..ugh. But I did enjoy reading about the complicated relationship between the two and honestly didn’t expect the reveal about him. What I had in mind was way, way more..boring. So that was a nice surprise.

The idea of a rehab place for immortals with problems was such a novelty and so much fun. I was wary at first because as far as I could see, all of the plot took place there or in the small, remote town where River’s Edge house was and I wasn’t sure what would be exciting about that. I was part right, this isn’t an action packed book, yet that takes nothing away from its greatness.

The writing was good. It’s frank, if that makes sense. Straight-forward. The book almost reads like a memoir.

I liked how Tiernan intertwined the present with flashbacks into Nasty’s past for a better understanding of her character. It was also reminiscent – for me – of Everneath.

I had a few issues with the repetition in the book, especially around the beginning, but either I become so enamored that I didn’t notice anymore or the book got gradually better and better and better and….Yeah, you got it.

And the ending? Woah. It’s not a heartbreaking cliffhanger or whatnot, it’s just..sudden. And I sooo didn’t want it to end.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Immortal Beloved by Cate Tiernan

  1. I’m so looking forward to reading this book! I can’t wait to get my hands on it. I LOVED Cate Tiernan’s Sweep series, it’s one of my favourite book series of all time, up there with Harry Potter. Have you read them? if not, I would definitely recommend them to you. 🙂

    • It was awesomeeee. I loved it. Sadly, I can’t say the same thing about the sequel. I just finished reading it and..meh.
      Oh no, I didn’t read the Sweep series. Something to do with witches right? I’m on my way to GoodReads as we speak 😀

      • Haha yepp it’s about Wicca, but it has loads of detail about the actual religion and how it works etc, along with a lot of other poetic lisence and great storytelling. It’s a 15 book series though, so quite long! 🙂

      • Got it. Found the ebook and I was just going to start reading now. Tiernan certainly seems a fan of magic, Immortal Beloved has magic elements too.
        I was hoping to read some Illona Andrews, but that was a bust. So I might aswell give Sweep a chance. Thanks 😉

  2. Pingback: Book Haul: Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed, Something Blue. | Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

