Book Review: A Hunger Like No Other by Kresley Cole

A mythic warrior who’ll stop at nothing to possess her . . .

After enduring years of torture from the vampire horde, Lachlain MacRieve, leader of the Lykae Clan, is enraged to find the predestined mate he’s waited millennia for is a vampire. Or partly one. This Emmaline is a small, ethereal half Valkyrie/half vampire, who somehow begins to soothe the fury burning within him.

A vampire captured by her wildest fantasy . . .

Sheltered Emmaline Troy finally sets out to uncover the truth about her deceased parents — until a powerful Lykae claims her as his mate and forces her back to his ancestral Scottish castle. There, her fear of the Lykae — and their notorious dark desires — ebbs as he begins a slow, wicked seduction to sate her own dark cravings. 

An all-consuming desire . . .

Yet when an ancient evil from her past resurfaces, will their desire deepen into a love that can bring a proud warrior to his knees and turn a gentle beauty into the fighter she was born to be?

Paperback: 360 Pages

Series: Immortals After Dark #2

Publisher: Pocket Star

Find on GoodReads

I hated this book! So much so in fact I couldn’t even finish it. See what boredom gets you? No un-read books in sight, but I knew I had a couple of ebooks on my computer so I thought to myself  “why not?” and this is the book I chose.

Of course, I’m not talking about ALL books, just this one.

See, I’m a huge fan of kickass heroines. Not necessarily in the sense that they are all mighty powerful or battle skilled or whatever – take Mercy Thompson for example: she’s not uber-powerful, yet she’s a great female character. She’s strong and independent and doesn’t take crap from anyone, she knows how to stand up for herself.

With that in mind, it’s understandable why I couldn’t even begin liking Emma. Supposedly incredibly powerful, being a hybrid between a vampire and a semi-god/valkyrie, she starts off as a sheltered, scared little girl who acts like the wimpiest kid on the playing ground. Forget about how annoying that is for a second and let’s all ask ourselves: how sheltered can a woman who’s incredibly beautiful/graceful/amazing/blah blah be?

Not to mention she’s not the brightest tool in the shed. When you get kidnapped by a crazy, raging werewolf who tries to abuse you every other minute and you agree, of your own, to go with him for the promise of shiny things, then you’re on an express train, passed naive heading straight to Dumb Town.

Also, call me silly, but I refuse to believe that if I was the abductee in this case, after all the things the abductor puts me through, I’d stop and marvel at his hotness and God-like beauty. Uhm, yeah, no.

As I’m sure you figured out by now, Lachlain isn’t the greatest hero there is out there either.  I’m not one to fail to understand the difference between reality and fantasy/imagination – after all I read both Twilight and Hush Hush – but I definitely draw the line at repeated attempts of rape and coercion, plus cruel behavior, especially when Emma is oh so forgiving and accepting of this.  He suffered so it’s okay that he kidnapped me and tried to rape me. My heroooo.

This is what I pictured Lachlain to look like:

He’s cruel, a madman, arrogant. All things I dislike in my male characters. Incredibly possessive too. Just fyi, wolves or dogs – as the closest animals to werewolves who *spoiler alert* don’t exist – aren’t that possessive, unless it comes to food I suppose. So if that’s the analogy the author was going for..

There are some other things happening apart from the continual abusive behavior, but after a third of the book I found myself incapable of going on.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Hunger Like No Other by Kresley Cole

Leave a Reply

