Book Review: The Kingdom by Amanda Stevens

Paperback: 376

Series: Graveyard Queen #2

Publisher: Mira

The Restorer (Graveyard Queen #1) Review

Find on GoodReads

Deep in the shadowy foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains lies a dying town….

My name is Amelia Gray. They call me The Graveyard Queen. I’ve been commissioned to restore an old cemetery in Asher Falls, South Carolina, but I’m coming to think I have another purpose here.

Why is there a cemetery at the bottom of Bell Lake? Why am I drawn time and again to a hidden grave I’ve discovered in the woods? Something is eating away at the soul of this town—this withering kingdom—and it will only be restored if I can uncover the truth.

In need of a change of scenery, and in serious need of a new project, Amelia accepts a job offer to restore a cemetery in Asher Falls. She welcomes the money and thinks it will be an easy job. But that’s not the case, as dark  forces and secrets are revealed to be at the center of the small, secluded town.

I loved The Kingdom, it was great, better than the first book even. I thought it unusual for Stevens to take her heroine away from her love interest, as Devlin doesn’t make an appearance in this book, but it was also bold, welcomed and made room for some interesting new characters. If only Amelia didn’t mention or think of him all the time, it would’ve been perfect.

The main male character and on/off romantic interest of this book was Thane Asher, heir to the Asher fortune. His family is the most powerful in the community, old money. A great character, he’s handsome, enticing and troubled, with a dark and dangerous side. Stevens stays true to her way of writing, because up until the end you never once know where he stands, what his deal is.

That’s one of the things I love most about this book: you never expect what’s coming, never know what the danger is. The threat is ever so vague, adding to the eerie atmosphere.  The portrayal of the tight-knit community, where everyone’s slightly weird, slightly menacing, where you never know who the bad guy is, is exceptional in The Kingdom.

Every single thing the characters say has a double meaning. Everyone has a secret and no one is willing to talk. It spooky, it’s creepy, it’s a book I shouldn’t have read well into the night. Also, Stevens seems to be a master of the red herrings, throwing you off until the last second. The book has some unexpected twists that were just awesome.

The writing is definitely the author’s strong suit. She paints such vivid, colorful, beautiful pictures with her descriptions, I couldn’t help but imagine this small town, encased by mountains and greenery.

The only reason I didn’t give the book a 5 star rating is Amelia. I’m used to my UF heroines to be a bit more..feistier. She’s the same smart and brave heroine she was in The Restorer, but I couldn’t help wish she weren’t so contained. I wanted her to just let loose, without help, but by her own choice. And she keeps talking about those damn rules, again and again, yet she keeps breaking them, just as often. That was a bit of an annoyance.

Except for that, I adore The Kingdom. Stevens is definitely one of my favorite authors.

” He pulled me back against him, an arm around my waist holding me still as he lifted my hair and licked my neck at the pulse point. As if trying to devour my essence. I jerked away in shock.

“What are you doing?”

“Trying to find the damn matches.”

His voice came from the bottom of the stairs. He was no longer in the chamber with me. But the arm was still holding me… .

Awesomeness!

One thought on “Book Review: The Kingdom by Amanda Stevens

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Prophet by Amanda Stevens « Bookloversity Reviews

Leave a Reply

