Book Review: The Prophet by Amanda Stevens

Paperback: 352 Pages

Series: Graveyard Queen #3

Publisher: Mira

Graveyard Queen #1

Graveyard Queen #2

Find on GoodReads

My name is Amelia Gray.

I am the Graveyard Queen, a cemetery restorer who sees ghosts. My father passed down four rules to keep me safe and I’ve broken every last one. A door has opened and evil wants me back.

In order to protect myself, I’ve vowed to return to those rules. But the ghost of a murdered cop needs my help to find his killer. The clues lead me to the dark side of Charleston—where witchcraft, root doctors and black magic still flourish—and back to John Devlin, a haunted police detective I should only love from afar.Now I’m faced with a terrible choice: follow the rules or follow my heart.”

Oh, Stevens, why do you do this to me? Have I not been a huge fan of your writing? Have I not declared you one of my favorite UF writers? What did I do to deserve this? *sigh*

Weakest book in the series, this one. Even though the writing was consistent with the previous installments, just as beautiful and evocative, the plot developed at such a snail pace! It didn’t keep me as engaged as The Kingdom did and the only real surprise, for me, came at the very end of the book. A nice twist, sadly, too late.

Amelia gets tricked/blackmailed into helping Freemont. At the same time, she decides, once more, to screw the rules her father had taught her and help Shani. You might be thinking she’s doing it because we’re talking about a sweet, innocent girl-ghost who keeps asking her for help, but no! She does it because “she’s Devlin’s daughter”.

Amelia reached new levels of Devlin obsession in this book, which I didn’t think possible, honestly. Her inner dialogue and insecurities, all about and because of Devlin, made me eye-roll at least a dozen times while reading. She’s like a teenager with a crush for the bad, tormented boy. Only, she knows nothing about him! Nothing. She keeps going on and on about how much she loves him. How? How is that possible? How can you love someone, when you know nothing about them i.e. there’s nothing to love.

No. I might have been if I’d met him first. Now there will never be anyone else for me.”

His arms tightened around me. “Such a romantic,” he murmured.

“Actually, I’m a pragmatist. I just know myself really well.”

A frown fleeted across his face. “But you don’t know me.”

Oh, Devlin! Thank you! That is exactly my point.

Her decision to help Shani, and rid Devlin of his ghosts, gave her an excuse to interrogate every single character about Mariama. If I didn’t know what was going on, I would’ve though Amelia to be a stalker. Which, at least at the beginning, she kind of is.

Also, she made one stupid, inexplicable, choice after another, only to be surprised at the horrible outcome afterwards.

I did find the villain, Goodwine, interesting and dangerous, and one of the reasons I rated this book the way I did.

Many questions were answered and the ending seemed to wrap up the storyline started in book one, however I think there might be plotlines worth pursuing in a next installment. As to whether Stevens will write another one or not, I can only guess.

If she does, I will read her book with pleasure, if only she seriously changes Amelia’s character.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Prophet by Amanda Stevens

  1. Does your site have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d
    like to shoot you an e-mail. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

Leave a Reply

